HOME
HOME.NEWS.ACTING.MUSIC.VIDEO.GALLERY.PRESS.GARY LE STRANGE.CONTACT.
It's been several years since I did anything worth writing about, so when I started putting this section together, I was pretty sure that most if not all mentions of me on the internet would have disappeared. It seems I was wrong. Though they may be deeply buried, the internet has a habit of saving things, and it turns out quite a few reviews and articles survive. It's not always particularly pleasant wading through all this stuff - it's not all entirely complimentary after all - but there comes a time when one has to face up to this stuff and I've decided that time is now. So here, for better or worse, is an attempt to contain all these disparate links in one place. It's mainly Gary Le Strange stuff for now but the list will undoubtedly expand with time...
GENERAL LINKS
Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waen_Shepherd - Please help me out by rewriting this travesty (I'd do it myself but it wouldn't really be right, would it?)
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1508314/ - Again this isn't entirely comprehensive. Is it bad form to update it myself?

THE INTERVENTION
Three Weeks (Quick Quiz) http://www.threeweeks.co.uk/article/ed2012-quick-quiz-waen-shepherd/
Three Weeks (Review) http://www.threeweeks.co.uk/article/ed2012-theatre-review-the-intervention-comedians-theatre-company-the-assembly-rooms/
Independent http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/edinburgh-festival/edinburgh-diary-bottoms-up-as-the-naked-racist-takes-to-the-bottle-8007531.html
Guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/theatreblog/2012/aug/06/edinburgh-festival-fringe-day-one
TV Bomb http://www.tvbomb.co.uk/?p=18093
Edfringe.com http://www.edfringe.com/whats-on/theatre/intervention?reviews=audience
Financial Times http://www.ft.com/cms/s/2/8d335fd6-e207-11e1-b3ff-00144feab49a.html#axzz29LsCK5cn
What's On Stage http://www.whatsonstage.com/reviews/theatre/london/E8831344353874/The+Intervention+(Edinburgh).html
Telegraph http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/theatre/edinburgh-festival-reviews/9479722/Telegraph-edinburgh-fringe-round-up.html
Broadway Baby http://www.broadwaybaby.com/listing.php?id=16331
The List http://edinburghfestival.list.co.uk/article/44076-the-intervention/
Fest http://www.festmag.co.uk/theatre/100904-the_intervention
STV http://entertainment.stv.tv/edinburgh-festivals/shows-were-lovin/312144-the-intervention-review/
The Stage http://ed.thestage.co.uk/reviews/1559

MUSIC
Spectrasonics OMG-1 Contest Winners http://www.spectrasonics.net/contest/winners.php
Interview on Time & Space blog http://blog.timespace.com/2011/09/spectrasonics-contest-winner-waen-shepherd-talks-about-his-winning-track/
The Velvet Onion http://thevelvetonion.com/category/2-the-wider-world-of-booshdom/waen-shepherd/
More Velvet Onion http://thevelvetonion.com/2011/09/18/strange-prize/

GARY LE STRANGE: GENERAL
Gary's old website http://www.garylestrange.co.uk/
Gary on Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Le_Strange
Gary on MySpace http://www.myspace.com/garylestrange

POLAROID SUITCASE: REVIEWS
Chortle http://www.chortle.co.uk/shows/edinburgh_fringe_2003/g/905/gary_le_strange%3A_polaroid_suitcase
Financial Times http://www.cix.co.uk/~shutters/reviews/03050.htm
Guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/2003/aug/09/comedy.edinburghfestival20031
Fringe Report http://www.fringereport.com/0308garylestrange.php
Edinburgh Guide http://www.edinburghguide.com/festival/2003/fringe/review_comedy.php?page=g
Telegraph http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/3600934/Edinburgh-reports-weirdos-are-kind-of-wonderful.html
Evening Standard http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/theatre/review-7331855-tales-of-an-old-romantic.do
Speedy Snail http://speedysnail.com/2003/comedy.html

FACE ACADEMY: REVIEWS
Financial Times http://www.cix.co.uk/~shutters/reviews/04097.htm
Guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/2004/aug/11/comedy.edinburghfestival20043
The Stage http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/3946/gary-le-strange-face-academy
Telegraph http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/theatre/3622065/Edinburgh-reports-sonic-boomtime.html
Radio Newt http://www.radionewt.org/rev2004.php?show=116
Edinburgh Evening News http://www.scotsman.com/news/gary_le_strange_1_1016205 - even though this is on the Scotsman website, it was originally printed in the Evening News
Glam-ou-Rama http://www.glam-ou-rama.co.uk/reviews_show.asp?id=281 - a review of the album

BEEF SCARECROW: REVIEWS
Metro http://www.metro.co.uk/metrolife/edfest/18472-gary-le-strange
Broadway Baby http://www.broadwaybaby.com/edinburgh-fringe-archive/1389-gary-le-strange-beef-scarecrow
The List http://edinburghfestival.list.co.uk/article/3169-gary-le-strange/
Chortle http://www.chortle.co.uk/shows/edinburgh_fringe_2006/g/14456/gary_le_strange%3A_beef_scarecrow - please do scroll down to the comments for a more balanced view
Scotsman http://www.scotsman.com/news/gary_le_strange_1_1129905
Edinburgh Evening News http://www.scotsman.com/news/gary_le_strange_beef_scarecrow_1_99553
Radio Newt http://www.radionewt.org/rev2006.php?show=326

GARY LE STRANGE: MISCELLANEOUS REVIEWS
Fringe Report (Club Fantastico) http://www.fringereport.com/0403clubfantastico.php
Fringe Report (Comedy a JoJo) http://www.fringereport.com/031007comedyajojo.php
The Mind's Construction http://tmcq.co.uk/reviews/gary-le-strange/
The Last Ever Club Le Strange http://dogdriller.blogspot.com/2005/12/rip-club-le-strange.html

OTHER REVIEWS
Book Club @ the British Library http://www.chortle.co.uk/shows/misc_live_shows/b/15934/book_club_at_the_british_library/review?id_review=15934
Nine Lessons and Carols http://www.chortle.co.uk/shows/misc_live_shows/n/16825/nine_lessons_and_carols_for_godless_people/review?id_review=16825
D4 Special http://www.fringereport.com/0212d4special.php - Yes, I really did do this
Golf War http://didymusbrush.wordpress.com/reviews/tv-reviews/golf-war/

GARY LE STRANGE: ARTICLES & FEATURES
Start the Revolution Without Me http://piley.blogspot.com/2009/08/gary-le-strange.html
G2 Song http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/2004/aug/09/comedy.edinburghfestival20041
BBC Interview http://www.bbc.co.uk/comedy/edinburgh2004/questionnaire/gary_lestrange.shtml
Style Icons http://lillianfunnyface.blogspot.com/2011/08/style-icons-gary-le-strange.html
A Load of Old Tripe http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/theatre/3654345/The-comedian-who-turns-prog-rock-into-a-load-of-old-tripe.html
Extreme Computing Festival http://www.sandywhite.co.uk/fun/xcom/default.htm
All the Rage http://alltherage.org.uk/alltherage-2007-03.pdf
ElectroCom! http://electronicrumors.com/2011/07/24/electrocom/

GARY LE STRANGE: NEWS, PREVIEWS & SNIPPETS
The Comedy Club http://www.hahaheehee.co.uk/comedians/gary-le-strange.html
Nottingham Preview http://www.dreamtargets.com/lestrange.htm
Soho Theatre Listing http://sohotheatre.mindunit.co.uk/pl366.html
Somewhere Between Heaven and Woolworths http://www.gbvdb.com/album.asp?albumid=2575
Glee Club http://www.glee.co.uk/index.php?id_page=169&id_performer=534&PHPSESSID=93bfe1f1e6997207bc7c222149ee8044
The Pod Deco http://www.thepod.co.uk/garylestrange.htm - amazing, the place went bust 8 years ago but the website is still there
Tron Theatre http://www.thefreelibrary.com/COMEDY+PREVIEW%3A+Waen+takes+a+very+Strange+look+back+at+New+Romantics%3B...-a0114387232
Edinburgh Comedy Awards blurb http://www.comedyawards.co.uk/biogs/Newcomer_garyLeStrange.html
Cheeky Monkey, Nov 4 2003 http://cheekycomedy.co.uk/2003-november4th-comedy.html
BBC (Hereford & Worcester) Marrs Bar Preview http://www.bbc.co.uk/herefordandworcester/stage/2004/10/lestrange.shtml
Jenny Turner http://www.jenny-turner.co.uk/web.htm
Namechecked in a 2000 AD Review! http://2000ad.wordpress.com/2011/01/20/prog-1716-review-part-4-necrophim/
WTF? http://www.trueknowledge.com/q/what_is_gary_le_strange's_middle_name
Is Sam Simmons really worse than me? (see comments) http://edinburghfestival.list.co.uk/article/28085-sam-simmons/
NO2ID Comedy Night http://www.theregister.co.uk/2006/09/29/no2id_comedy_night/
Windmill Brixton http://oohmisspain.blogspot.com/2005/09/newsflashlamour-le-strange.html
Rough Guide announcement http://www.malcolmhardee.co.uk/RoughGuide.pdf
Spank the Monkey http://spank-the-monkey.typepad.com/blog/2007/07/repost-edinbu-2.html
Perrier Award Speculation 2003 http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/theatre/drama/3622416/Who-will-win-comedys-top-prize.html
Namechecked by Stewart Lee http://www.stewartlee.co.uk/press/other-stuff/2004-spring-smiths.htm
Catmachine's Edinburgh NotBlog http://www.catmachine.eu/2006/08/edinburgh-notblog2.html
Article about the Pod Bloody Deco, which went bankrupt and took all my ticket money with it http://www.thestage.co.uk/news/newsstory.php/2232/edinburgh-fringe-comedy-venues-attack
BBC (Perrier win) http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/3176417.stm
HMS President http://www.overyourhead.co.uk/2003/11/what-shall-we-do-with-drunken-sailor.html
Guardian (Perrier win) http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2003/aug/25/edinburgh2003.arts
Comedy Courses (wouldn't teach you how to do my act) http://www.independent.co.uk/news/media/get-a-ba-in-comedy-make-them-laugh-424535.html
The Final Word http://www.thefinalword.co.uk/content/view/271/34/
And the Dull-Witted Rudeness Award Goes To... http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/culture/markmonahan/3644381/And_the_dullwitted_rudeness_award_goes_to/
Comedy Carpet http://comedycarpet.co.uk/ - No, really. Gary Le Strange is named on Blackpool's famous Comedy Carpet. Look under 'L'. A fantastic and bizarre honour.
Latitude Festival http://alphabetrain.wordpress.com/2009/07/21/the-middle-class-goes-to-paradise-latitude-festival-suffolk-july-16th-19th/ - a brief mention

FLICKR
Salim Fadhley (Resofit @ The Bloomsbury Theatre) http://www.flickr.com/photos/salimfadhley/sets/72157600035834504/with/439277926/
Idil Sukan (Karaoke Circus @ The 100 Club) http://www.flickr.com/photos/idilsukan/sets/72157621038113481/
Isabelle Adam (Latitude Festival & more) http://www.flickr.com/search/?w=92607898@N00&q=waen%20shepherd

HYPERDRIVE
Camden Lock http://www.freewebs.com/camdenlock/links.htm - Yes, someone actually genuinely liked Hyperdrive and made a fan site about it
Captain Helix Compilation http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQGMx1kP2YY

MUTTON
Mutton: The Team http://www.liberatedtheatre.com/page.php?pageID=Mutton_team
Mutton: Reviews http://www.liberatedtheatre.com/page.php?pageID=Mutton_press

THE INBETWEENERS
List of characters http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_The_Inbetweeners_characters
TV Tropes http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Series/TheInbetweeners?from=Main.TheInbetweeners - 'Ephebo' Kennedy just wouldn't have had the same ring
Den of Geek http://www.denofgeek.com/television/1016769/the_top_5_the_inbetweeners_episodes.html - Very happy to have made it into two of their top five episodes
Mr Gilbert or Mr Kennedy? http://www.formspring.me/r/inbetweeners-mr-gilbert-or-mr-kennedy-peado-kennedy/240885190027641441 - I don't think I even remotely understand this
Top Ten Inbetweeners Characters http://top10.com/top-10-inbetweeners-characters/markjames
E4's Top Twenty Inbetweeners Moments http://www.channel4.com/programmes/the-inbetweeners/articles/top-moments-from-the-inbetweeners

OTHER RANDOM SHEPHERD-RELATED ITEMS
My Fringe http://www.myfringe.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/News/News.html
More Fringe http://www.myfringe.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/What%20When%20Where/What_When_Where.html
Klang Blog http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/comedy/2009/08/we-are-klang-on-jon-richardson.shtml
End of the Road Festival http://www.endoftheroadfestival.com/comedians/waen-shepherd/ - I did not write this
My Best Tweets, apparently http://favstar.fm/users/waenshepherd
Nine Highlights from Nine Lessons and Carols http://newhumanist.org.uk/2703/nine-highlights-from-nine-lessons-and-carols-for-godless-people
The Grass is Always Greener... http://www.sidrodrigues.com/2008/12/nine-lessons-and-carols-for-godless-people/ - A podcast I'm apparently in but don't remember contributing to
Mr Gammon (World of Wrestling pics) http://www.mrgammon.net/oldsite/wrestle.html
We are Klang Quiz http://quiz.thefullwiki.org/We_Are_Klang - A terrible quiz which appears to have been set by a robot
A Christmas Treat for Atheists http://freethinker.co.uk/2008/09/12/a-christmas-treat-for-atheists/
The Velvet Onion Calendar 2012 http://thevelvetonion.com/2011/12/29/the-velvet-onion-calendar-2012/ - I'm December, with Rich Fulcher & Tony Way
Prehistory (1981-1993)
REVIEWS
Journalistic Verdicts
2003-2006
Gary Le Strange shows off his Newton's Cradle
ARTICLES
Interviews & Features
2003-2011
The two faces of Gary Le Strange
Young, innocent comedians prepare for their Edinburgh doom
Show Promises Surprises!
A pose chosen for a slagging by Radio Newt
SNIPPETS
News, Previews & Gossip
1995-2006
PREHISTORY
School & University
1981-1993
ONLINE
Links on the Web
2002-2011
OFFICIAL
Flyers & Programmes
2003-2009
Scene & Heard
HOME